Varia

January 24, 2009

Here are a few interesting things I’ve come across in the past few days, but about which I don’t have time to say much:

  • The Globe & Mail has been running some feature articles about Jean Vanier, founder of the L’Arche communities, and one of the truly great Canadians.  I have had the opportunity to hear him speak twice, the last time being a decade ago  when he delivered the Massey Lectures in Toronto.  He is a wonderful man, soft-spoken and gentle, but with a magnetic presence.  I’m an admirer, and I recommend the articles.  This interview is a good start.  (Hat-tip: Christina)
  • Take note, Vaticaniste: the Vatican has started its own YouTube channel!  This will be a source for short video clips about goings-on at Vatican City.  There is not much material there yet, but it may be worth keeping an eye on.  So to speak.
  • The US Democratic party’s plan to reduce abortions “through social programs” is off to a bad start: yesterday, just one day after the anniversary of Roe v. Wade, President Obama rescinded the “Mexico City Policy” which forbade funding of international organizations that support or  provide abortions.  This was expected — Bill Clinton did the same thing as soon as he took office — but still worth noting.  It begins.
  • The Oscar nominations came out this week.  Five films were nominated for Best Picture.  I haven’t seen a single one of them.   All of them are recent releases, and I’m not even sure they have played in my city.  They wonder why Oscar night has been losing its audience…
  • A new discovery: Dr. Boli’s Celebrated Magazine.  Very much worth celebrating.
  • Advance word is that next month’s new Van Morrison album, a live re-invention of his landmark first album Astral Weeks, is a rousing success.  I’m beside myself with anticipation.  I’m not even joking: I am literally sitting here beside myself.

That’s enough.

Leave a Reply

