Carpe diem

February 27, 2017

Toward the end of World War II, Pieper was imprisoned and took the occasion to read through the fifty volumes of Goethe’s collected works.

— Ralph McInerny, introducing
Josef Pieper’s The Silence of Goethe

8 Responses to “Carpe diem”

  1. Janet Says:

    I have been reading Pieper on the virtues. It’s so great.

    AMDG

  2. cburrell Says:

    About 15 years ago (!) I read his book on the three theological virtues, and for the past 5 years or so I have been slowly (!) reading his book on the four cardinal virtues. As you say, they are excellent all around. One of the reasons I’ve been so slow is that the books are so rich that I feel I’m not getting from them all they have to give, so I’ve been reluctant to move on.

  3. Mac Horton Says:

    Where does one go to apply for this prison?

  4. cburrell Says:

    If you find out, let me know.


Leave a Reply

