Lecture night: Educating the heart

May 17, 2016

My favourite pastime on YouTube is to watch news anchors making mistakes, but my second favourite is to listen to lectures. There are many excellent lectures posted from all manner of venues. I could listen to something interesting nearly every night, if I had the leisure. It occurs to me that I might post some of the more interesting of these lectures here.

For today, here is a lecture by Fr Andrew Cuneo, an Orthodox priest, broadly on the topic of education, and broadly based on C.S. Lewis’ The Abolition of Man. Fr Cuneo is the first Oxford graduate to have done his doctoral degree on C.S. Lewis, so he knows his subject, but he wears his learning lightly. It’s a very thoughtful lecture.

Incidentally, I rarely sit and actually watch these lectures; I listen to them while I commute to and from work. (I usually use a simple tool to reduce the videos to audio only.)

4 Responses to “Lecture night: Educating the heart”

  1. Jake Says:

    Thank you so much for sharing these. If it’s not too much of an inconvenience, perhaps you could compile a list of favorite lectures that you’ve enjoyed? I’m a janitor at the local university here in Milledgeville, Georgia (home of Flannery O’Connor – I work at her alma mater) and roam the halls at night in my building listening to lots of the recommendations you share musically (Hildegaard von Bingen’s Vox Cosmica is now a personal favorite), but also find immense pleasure and value in lectures such as these and the one you shared from Esolen the other day. It’s a shame that so many of these are limited to the audience to which they were given, forsaking the gift of wonderful (and cheap) technology allowing us all a chance to gain insight and wisdom even when we can’t be present in the halls themselves to hear them in person.

    Keep up the good work! Your blog is a treasure. I came across it years ago when annotating T.S. Eliot’s Four Quartets (I was once an aspiring academic, but life took me in a different direction, i.e. cleaning toilets!) and have never stopped frequenting it. I appreciate your tastes to be sure, but even more than this, I appreciate your ability to convey insight. It’s a gift. I hope to be able to join you in the world of the sciences in the near future as I’m now pursuing a biology degree with the hope to contribute to the wonderful web of mycelium research once I complete my degree (in 8 years at this rate!).

  2. cburrell Says:

    Thank you very much indeed for your kind words, Jake. I write this weblog for my own enjoyment, but I do sometimes wonder who, besides myself, gets any benefit from it. Occasionally I get notes like yours, which are encouraging to me.

    I like the idea of compiling a list of good lectures, but I am not confident that I’m going to find time to do it anytime soon. I might make “Lecture night” a semi-regular feature here, as I encounter good ones, now that my “Great moments in opera” series seems to have run out of gas.

    In the meantime, you might enjoy looking at past lectures from the Notre Dame Centre for Ethics and Culture (here), where the proportion of quality lectures seems to be high.

    As to your education, I wish you all the best! Keep your eye on the prize!


  3. I love Fr. Andrew! He was a priest intern in my parish a few years ago and gave several lectures on C.S. Lewis during that year, of which I missed every one ! So I appreciate your sharing this one that is on a subject close to my heart.

  4. cburrell Says:

    This lecture was my introduction to him, but he certainly does have a very genial manner, and I can well believe that he’s an excellent priest.


Leave a Reply

