Blessed John of Fiesole

April 17, 2016

I’ve written a short appreciation of the painter Blessed John of Fiesole (aka Fra Angelico) for the 52 Saints series at The Three Prayers. I’ve loved Angelico for years, and, with this opportunity to write about him, I’d really hoped to turn out a thoughtful essay on art, beauty, and holiness. Alas, the best I could manage was to witlessly point at a few of his paintings. If you’re interested, it’s here.

3 Responses to “Blessed John of Fiesole”


  1. Nice tribute! Can you believe that I made it through 6 years of studying art history at university without ever learning that Angelico had been beatified? I found out by coincidence when my mom gave me a fridge magnet with his portrait and designation as the patron saint of artists.

  2. cburrell Says:

    I can believe it. I myself didn’t know he was beatified until a few years ago. I forget how it came about that I learned it, but it was a nice surprise.


Leave a Reply

