Singing like a Byrd

September 13, 2014

One of my favourite choirs, Stile Antico, has a new recording out this week, and the news sent me scrounging for some concert footage. I found this clip of them singing William Byrd’s Ave verum corpus, recorded last year at Wigmore Hall. This piece is one of the “greatest hits” of the period; certainly it is one that I love. The sound here is tremendously good, and the singing is so precise that one can hear all four parts clearly. Follow along with the score?

4 Responses to “Singing like a Byrd”

  1. Janet Says:

    I sat down to take a break from cleaning my house for prospective buyers, and found this in my inbox. How lovely. The perfect accompaniment to my quiet (interior) moment.

    AMDG

  2. cburrell Says:

    I didn’t know that you were selling your home, Janet. No wonder you’ve been so busy. I’m glad you enjoyed the music.

  3. Janet Says:

    I don’t know that I am for sure. We’re thinking, though, that Bill just cannot keep up this property anymore, especially if he has to continue to work, which he does. And the time is probably coming when one or the other of us might need the kind of medical help you can only get in a city.

    I just mentioned on a homeschool email list that we were thinking about selling the house. I thought that sometime or other one of the people on the list might hear about someone who wanted to move to a rural area and mention it to them. The next day, I got an email asking for pictures. It’s a nice young faimly with their 5th baby on the way, and it will be a miracle if they can pull it of financially, but I believe in miracles.

    AMDG

  4. cburrell Says:

    If you do decide to sell, it would be nice if it could go to a family like that. A place you’ve lived in for many years becomes a part of you, and passing it along to a family you like makes it a little easier, I think. Still, prepping a house for a sale is such a huge amount of work; I don’t want to think about it.

    Don’t worry, I won’t say anything about the big tree.


Leave a Reply

