A taste of heaven

April 10, 2011

I have heard it said that Mass ought to be a window into the heavenly liturgy that is perpetually celebrated before the throne of God Almighty: cherubim and seraphim crying Sanctus, Sanctus, Sanctus; the prayers of the faithful rising up like incense; and row upon row of saints rapt in adoration.

It is rare, of course, for the humble liturgy here below to live up to that high standard. I do believe, however, that I may have had a foretaste at our parish, and it came in a way that I had never anticipated. As we approached the moment of consecration, all kneeling and quiet in prayer, I heard an urgent whispering from behind me, and it said:

Stop it, Augustine! Give that back to Dominic!

I admit: I smiled.

10 Responses to “A taste of heaven”

  1. Mac Says:

    I’m smiling, too.

  2. Christina A. Says:

    And I’m still wondering why my husband won’t let me name the kids Benedict and Scholastica!

  3. cburrell Says:

    I’ve also noticed at least one Xavier and an Ignatius running around in that church. No Benedicts or Scholasticas yet, though.

  4. cburrell Says:

    I almost forgot: there is a Perpetua.

  5. Adam Hincks Says:

    You’ll be pleased to hear that Scholastica is not an uncommon name here in Kenya. I’ve met at least two. One of our security men has named his daughters Bakhita and Nengapeta. So go ahead and give your children those names that mean something to you!

  6. KathyB Says:

    For all my friends who are reading, I am calling dibs on Perpetua.

  7. cburrell Says:

    It’s yours, Kathy.

  8. Christina A. Says:

    J. won’t let me call any of the kids “Perpetua” – if you’re calling dibs, I got on this one a couple of years ago, but good luck to you if you can get a husband on-side with that one!

  9. Christina A. Says:

    Yes, my secret life as a frequent insomniac is revealed!


Leave a Reply

