My Superbowl

February 8, 2010

A friend approached me after Mass, and the following conversation ensued.

Friend: Are you going to watch the football game today?

Me: What football game?

Friend: [silence]

Me: [hopefully] Is it the Grey Cup?

Friend: No, it’s the NFL.

Me: Oh, of course! [Pause] What’s the name of their championship game again?

Friend: The Superbowl.

Me: Right.  I knew that.

At this point I realized that I needed to do something to redeem myself, so I pressed forward.

Me: Who is playing?

Friend: The Colts and the Saints.

Me: Well, since I’m a Catholic I guess I had better cheer for the Saints.

I didn’t watch the game, but I see that I guessed well.  Congratulations to the New Orleans Saints.

2 Responses to “My Superbowl”

  1. Mike Says:

    Careful you don’t attract any gambling friends; they might start to consider you lucky 😉

    And for future reference, an easy way to remember when the Grey Cup is not is keeping in mind the Canadian climate. All but 2 stadiums in the CFL are outdoor, so it’d be rather poor scheduling to have the season extend into February :P. One might think this would keep us from keeping the season from going into the November, but I guess we’re allowed to be at least a little bit crazy.

  2. cburrell Says:

    The thought that a deep-winter football game might be too cold did cross my mind, but too late to prevent me from blurting out my guess. It makes sense to play football in the summer, at least in Canada.


Leave a Reply

