Remember, remember, the fifth of November

November 5, 2009

looting

(Click to enlarge.)

4 Responses to “Remember, remember, the fifth of November”

  1. Christina A. Says:

    I don’t know the “remember, remember” rhyme, but maybe you are also watching the Tudors on CBC this season where the peoples are revolting against the destruction of the Catholic institutions?

  2. Christina A. Says:

    Ok, My much more knowledgeable husband just informed me of what is going on here and thinks that you are being ironic. I think that I’m on your side.

    Guy sounds like my kinda guy.

  3. Joel Says:

    This juxtaposition dies not really rise to the level of irony. I guess you just would like to point out that it wasn’t only Catholics who engaged in violence.

    Christina, your comment is particularly ironic, however, because if you condone Guy’s approach (as it sounds like you do) you must also condone the conduct of the soldiers above. Were you joking?

  4. cburrell Says:

    I don’t think I was trying to be ironic. Today is the anniversary of the discovery of the Gunpowder Plot. I had a pretty interesting image from the period that related to the conflict between Catholics and Protestants. I thought I would post it. No endorsement of the Plot is intended. (And no endorsement of those soldiers either.)


Leave a Reply

