Sunday night Pavarotti

March 15, 2009

Here is Pavarotti singing Puccini’s famous aria “Nessun dorma” from Turandot. Before watching this video I had never appreciated how simple the vocal line is.  That high B at the end has sent many a tenor packing, but Pavarotti is unruffled.  Vincerò, indeed!

7 Responses to “Sunday night Pavarotti”

  1. Nick Milne Says:

    It was “Nessun Dorma” (though not, to my knowledge, Pavarotti performing it) that first brought me around to the idea that there was really something worth pursuing in that boring old classical music. Of course Puccini isn’t really “classical” in the strictest sense, but that’s how I had conceived of all orchestral/choral work at the time.

    I had never heard anything like it, anyway. It does not remain my all-time favourite, but I still love it a great deal. You’ve seen the first Paul Potts performance of it, yes? It’s pretty excellent, albeit in ways completely different from those on display in the clip you’ve provided here.

  2. cburrell Says:

    “Paul Potts?” I said to myself, scratching my head. I did a search and turned him up. As it happens, I have heard him. He’s not Pavarotti, of course, but it’s pretty thrilling to hear a frumpy phone salesman open his mouth and have that sound come out, English teeth askew.

  3. Nick Milne Says:

    The very man. The incongruity of it all and the apparent set-up for disappointment or at least mediocrity make for a most thrilling experience.

    He seems to have done fairly well for himself, anyway.

  4. Giovanni Says:

    Craig,

    all great melodic lines are simple. That’s part of what makes them great. Something Italians have understood very well throughout musical history, and Germans, for the most part, have not.

    –GF

  5. cburrell Says:

    Then how do you account for that supreme melodist Wagner?

  6. Giovanni Says:

    I don’t. Wagner didn’t write melodies. Wagner didn’t know the meaning of the word “melody”. At most 3 or 4 notes for a “motif”.

    But maybe you were being sarcastic…

    –GF


Leave a Reply

