An historic extraordinary rite Mass in Toronto

March 4, 2009

There’s an announcement up at the New Liturgical Movement for an extraordinary rite (the pre-Vatican II rite) Mass to be held in the Newman Center chapel at the University of Toronto in a few weeks.  This will, I believe, be the first time the old rite has been celebrated in this chapel since the 1960s. The announcement is no surprise to me: I am a member of the Gregorian Schola that has been formed to sing the music. I have been practicing diligently, but now that NLM has got involved I had better practice really diligently. Yikes.

Incidentally, we are singing the appropriate Propers, the Ordinary (Mass XVIII), and also Victoria’s Ave Maria for four voices.  If you are in the Toronto area you are most welcome to attend.  Friday, 20 March, 7 p.m.

4 Responses to “An historic extraordinary rite Mass in Toronto”

  1. Janet Says:

    Oh, I wish I could. I would love to hear that. I would love to sing in a schola. I’m jealous. You are causing me to sin.

    AMDG,

  2. cburrell Says:

    Janet, if you heard us your envy would quickly depart.

  3. Janet Says:

    There is just something about standing in the middle of a choir singing, even if it’s not the best choir in the world. It must be a foretaste of heaven.

    AMDG, Janet

  4. KathyB Says:

    Ach! Due to my own choir rehearsal I won’t be able to attend this!


Leave a Reply

