Sunday night white winter hymnal

March 1, 2009

There’s an album that I have been meaning to write about for a while now, but haven’t found the time.   It was released last year by a band calling themselves Fleet Foxes.  It is hard to believe that the album is their debut; they sound very sure of themselves.  It’s a beautiful record, falling somewhere between The Band and The Beach Boys, with a pinch of Appalachian mountain music mixed in for good measure.

The first time I heard the record I could have sworn I’d heard several of the songs before.  Maybe they’ve been getting some radio time, and I’ve heard the songs here or there — I don’t know.  Maybe everybody knew about them except for me.   In any case, their music has been mesmerizing me for several months now, and I’d like to post one of their songs here.  This is “White Winter Hymnal”: two and one-half minutes of bliss.


(This is the song’s official video; I don’t know why it is so dark.)

3 Responses to “Sunday night white winter hymnal”

  1. Janet Says:

    I like that! I went to look for the lyrics and saw where someone thought that they reminded him of The Road. Kind of an interesting thought.

    AMDG, Janet

  2. cburrell Says:

    For such a lovely song, the lyric is surprisingly disturbing: is it a forced march through a winter landscape? They have “scarves of red tied ’round their throats”, and why? “To keep their heads from falling in the snow”. And then when one does fall, the snow turns red. Like blood? No, like “strawberries in the summertime”. What’s going on?

  3. Janet Says:

    Really. One guy said it was the American Civil War and the guys had red scarves because they were British. LOL

    AMDG, Janet


Leave a Reply

