Sunday night cello suite

July 27, 2008

This past week I reviewed the contours of my classical music collection, and found that I have more music by J.S. Bach than by anyone else, and that the compositions of which I have the most versions are his Suites for solo cello.  It seems fitting, therefore, to post a selection from one of these suites tonight.  Here is the wonderful French (though Canadian-born) cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras playing the “Prelude” and “Allemande” movements from Suite No.3. (Duration: 8 min.)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: