Lenten reading: Traherne III

April 9, 2014

Wants are the bands and cements between God and us. Had we not wanted we could never have been obliged. Whereas now we are infinitely obliged, because we want infinitely. From Eternity it was requisite that we should want. We could never else have enjoyed anything: Our own wants are treasures. And if want be a treasure, sure everything is so.

– Thomas Traherne, Centuries, I.51.

5 Responses to “Lenten reading: Traherne III”

  1. Janet Says:

    I would respond to your comment on my blog, but it’s so nice to see someone else’s name sitting there that I’m leaving it at the top to give myself the illusion that someone reads the blog.

    AMDG

  2. cburrell Says:

    Janet, someone does read the blog.

    I hope you have a very good Holy Week. You must be unusually busy this time around.

    • Janet Says:

      I know that you do, and that some others do. The others are just very quiet.

      Yes, I am extremely busy. For the past 8 years, I have always been off during Holy Week, and for the past 2 years, I’ve also taken the week after Easter. It is quite a different kind of Holy Week for me, but I’m sure there is plenty of grace wherever I might be.

      I hope yours is good, too.

      AMDG

  3. cburrell Says:

    Last year our Holy Week was a minor disaster: we had to leave two of the Triduum services early because the children were unmanageable. We are hoping for a better showing this year. The kids were excited to wave palm branches yesterday, but, alas! We were late.

    This year the secular calendar maps onto the sacred calendar in the same way that it did in the year I was baptized: Easter on April 20. I’m inordinately pleased about that.

  4. Janet Says:

    Well then, Happy Anniversary!

    I am excited about Eastern and Western Easter falling on the same date this year.

    I almost certainly will have to miss both Good Friday services and the Easter Vigil this year for the first time in as long as I can remember. I have some family matters that can only be seen to at those times. It’s disappointing, but that’s the way it will have to be.

    AMDG


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

