Ash Wednesday, 2014

March 5, 2014

Of all the many musical settings of Psalm 51 130, my favourite is Arvo Pärt’s. It is luminously simple, but it never fails to move me. Even if you’ve not heard it before, I expect you would find it not too difficult to sing along with the score, and what better day to do it?

15 Responses to “Ash Wednesday, 2014”

  1. godescalc Says:

    It’s beautiful! But I’m pretty sure that’s Psalm 130…

  2. cburrell Says:

    Heh. You’re right about that, godescalc. Good catch.

  3. Janet Says:

    Well, that was fun. Are you allowed to have fun while singing “out of the depths…?”

    I think I’ve figured out why I couldn’t comment the other day. When I go to work, Chrome changes my identity to my WordPress account that I use for the parish website. Then when I change back to myself, it gets unhappy. I have to close the page and come back to post.

    AMDG

  4. stpaulmemphis Says:

    A question that has nothing to do with anything here.

    Our parish announcement page is a wordpress blog, and I’m trying to figure out where on the dashboard I can look to see who is following the blog. Can you help?

    Thanks,
    AMDG,
    Janet

  5. cburrell Says:

    You can see how many people have an email subscription to the blog (that is, they get an email when you post) by looking at Dashboard -> Site Stats, and then looking under “Totals, Followers, and Shares”. If you click on “Blog” under “Followers” you’ll see a list.

    But people can also subscribe to your blog via a third party service (like RSS). In that case, I don’t know of any way to track who or how many.

    • stpaulmemphis Says:

      Shoot. I don’t think that anyone in our parish knows what an RSS feed is. I only have 4 followers, and one is me.

      AMDG

  6. cburrell Says:

    Well, don’t be discouraged. Probably there are lots of people who check the site in an idle moment?

    • stpaulmemphis Says:

      I’m not. It’s just that our parish is mostly older, or Mexican, or Irish Travelers (which is a whole other topic), and I don’t think any of them are heavily into the internet. Also, the Announcement page wasn’t updated for a long time before I got here 8 months ago, and I’ve only found out how to access it in the last month or so. People do seem to be looking at it a bit.

      AMDG

  7. cburrell Says:

    Have you already been there for 8 months? It seems not long ago that you were making the transition.

  8. Janet Says:

    BTW, my own blog only has 3 followers, so it’s not so bad to have 4 on the church blog, even though I’m one.

    AMDG

  9. cburrell Says:

    Maybe they are the same three?

    I subscribe to your blog on RSS, so I am one of the “invisible” ones.

    • stpaulmemphis Says:

      Heh, no. I’m pretty sure that my blog doesn’t have a large following here–although there is one person who looked at it once.

      AMDG

  10. cburrell Says:

    By the way, when I went to find the “followers” for you the other day, I was surprised to discover that this blog has 118 followers! I can’t imagine who they all are. The silent majority.

    Hi, everybody.

  11. stpaulmemphis Says:

    Goodness. I’m jealous.

    AMDG


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

