On The Tree of Life

December 12, 2013

Good commentary on Terrence Malick’s The Tree of Life from Roy Anker of Calvin College:

This hardly plumbs the depth of this inexhaustible film, but it does make some astute observations about it. The emphasis on “glory” and “shining”, which were also elements of Malick’s earlier films The Thin Red Line and The New World, is spot on. I also like the way he connects the structure of the film to the prologue of St. John’s Gospel.

What a film! Truly.

2 Responses to “On The Tree of Life


  1. I’m almost tempted to replace my old tube tv with a flat-screen so I can see Tree of Life again.

  2. cburrell Says:

    I know what you mean. I had the chance to see it again on a mid-sized television, and it was great, but what would I give to see it in a theatre again!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

