Lunch time

August 16, 2013

In a couple of weeks I am going to have to start packing a lunch every day for our daughter — and not just a lunch, but a lunch and two snacks! Naturally I’m dreading the onset of this particular obligation, and I’m doing my best to avert my eyes from the prospect of it continuing for 15 years.

But, as the Boy Scouts say, “be prepared”: I thought to look online for ideas for simple and nutritious meals that I could consider making for her. The very first article I found, from Canadian Family magazine, is called “15 School Lunch Ideas They’ll Love”. Sounds good, right? Their first suggestion is this:

Honey Cider Ricotta Fondue

Honey Ricotta Fondue with Fruit Dippers. 

For crying out loud.

If anybody cares to share ideas for simple lunches, you’re most welcome to leave a comment.

7 Responses to “Lunch time”

  1. Erin Burrell Says:

    Ha ha! Oh come on!! I have such fond memories of pulling out my fondue set up and arranging it on my desk!
    What about peanut butter and banana wraps? A Canadian classic!

  2. Christina Says:

    oh my goodness! Who the f***k sends their kid to school with fondue dippers in the first place and secondly, calls it
    easy!!!!! It looks like a fast way to get bamboo banned from the school system!

    I also feel your pain…B’s new school involves providing snack for the whole class for three weeks/yr and doing the laundry for the classroom during those three weeks. I’m sorry, but the place charges tuition closing in on university course rates for a 2.5 hr day – I thought that would include complimentary rice krispy squares!

    I also have to procure a house plant and send it in on the first day of school. Talk about pressure seeing as I have no idea what the other kids are going to have.

    Erin, you must realize that peanut butter is about as bad as taking anthrax to school. That is a thing of our own youth that has passed.

    So, all rants being ranted, here is my suggestion: 1 packaged snack like a nut free granola bar, 1 snack made out of fruit like grapes or strawberries so you don’t have to do the obligatory pre-cutting, or try raisins and crackers for easy peasy. Lunch ideas: slice of cheese, slice of meat, small tortilla – roll up 3-4 ahead of time, wrap in saran, throw a few in fridge and you’re ready to grab and go in the AM. I used to love a container with cheese squares, crackers and grapes when I was in grade 1. Small deli sausages cut into pieces – make a batch ahead of time and throw in a few each day.

    Well, you’ll just have to phone for other ideas, but yes, this does stink. Good news is that by grade 3, they can make it themselves. I guess you can also be glad that Ontario has publicly-funded early childhood education. Saskatchewan still assumes that women stay home until their kids are 6.

    You will emerge stronger and holier,

    C

  3. cburrell Says:

    Great, great ideas, Christina. I just need a simple algorithm that I can follow, and this helps a lot.

  4. Adam D. Hincks, S.J. Says:

    Um, fifteen years? She can make her own lunch at some point, no? (Or did I just have an unusual childhood?)

  5. cburrell Says:

    I don’t remember packing my own lunch when I was growing up. I suppose I had a very lazy childhood — when I wasn’t mowing, shovelling, planting, feeding, and pulling.

    It is hard for me to imagine the day when the kids will be capable enough to prepare their own lunches, but I suppose that day will come!

  6. Christina Says:

    B. is already at “make your own peanut butter and jelly sandwich” stage (with some supervision) and she can definitely help with putting things away in the fridge and pantry. She’s good with carrying groceries from front door to kitchen too – even though sometimes it’s one loaf of bread at a time. We’re also getting good at setting the table and carrying dirty dishes to the counter by dishwasher. One of her jobs is also wiping the counters (usually after I’ve gone over and gotten main crud cleaned up) with those disinfectant wet-wipes and she’s magic with the Mr. Clean Magic Eraser when it’s time to clean up her marker messes. Get kids started on these little things now and soon lunch making will be a breeze.

  7. cburrell Says:

    I’m taking notes as quickly as I can. This is pure gold.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

