Wall o’books

July 28, 2013

The general quietness around these parts these days is simply because we’ve moved; those moments that might ordinarily be “spare” are instead devoted to digging out from under the boxes. There are these, for instance, in what will one day be the library:

P1020711

I’ll get to them someday…

20 Responses to “Wall o’books”

  1. Vince Says:

    Wow! And I thought I had a lot of books. I have 12 boxes of mostly physics and math books in Texas. Aren’t you worried about the books in the bottom row?

  2. cburrell Says:

    Yes, a little!

    I have most of my physics and math books at work, so they are not part of this pile. I don’t have 12 boxes worth of those, however.

  3. Janet Says:

    All of my books are sitting in a house in hot, humid Mississippi with no electricity to run the AC. I’m trying to be detached.

    AMDG

  4. cburrell Says:

    You’re making me nervous, Janet. I suppose there is not much you can do. And I suppose, too, that this may be one of your lesser worries at the moment.

    • Janet Says:

      To tell you the truth, I’m not much worried about anything. I would really like to be home, and I would be sad if the books mildrew, but there’s really nothing I can do at the moment.

      AMDG

    • Janet Says:

      I think when we moved we had maybe 60 boxes of books–or 80. Most of the boxes were given us by a friend who owned a printing firm, so they had held reams of paper.

      I just realized that I have some of those exact same Office Depot boxes sitting on the table in my office. I am filling them with billions of files belonging to my predecessor. I’m not sure if I need the files or not–nobody knows–but I know I need the space in the file cabinet.

      Since I am not in Toronto, none of my boxes say “petit,” they all say “small.”

      AMDG

  5. cburrell Says:

    Now that is a gratifying response. Thanks, Mac.

  6. Janet Says:

    Oh wait.
    Some say pequena. Only with a tilda on the “n.”

    AMDG

  7. cburrell Says:

    Heh. I’m always surprised when I come down to the US and find Spanish on the signs and packaging. I can see the rationale in a place like Texas or California, but I was in Indiana recently and it was even true there!

    I didn’t count, but I think we had about 60-70 boxes of books. About 2000 volumes altogether at this point. Not very many, really. Right?

  8. Janet Says:

    Nah. But they are beginning to be a burden to me.

    AMDG

  9. cburrell Says:

    Mine are a literal burden to me.

  10. Janet Cupo Says:

    They don’t seem to smell!

    AMDG


  11. I really don’t have any idea how many we have, but I’m pretty sure it’s not enough to fill sixty or seventy boxes. Half that, maybe? Even though we have several walls lined with books. Or maybe I underestimate what it would take to pack them.

  12. Christina Says:

    Craig, Janet and Maclin,
    You need to coordinate better and use your three collections to build a huge stack that would allow you to climb to heaven.
    I’ve stopped buying books and become an avid library user again. Problem is I can never remember what I’ve read cause they’re not on the shelves.
    Christina

    • Janet Cupo Says:

      Well, I haven’t bought any books in a while, except for the ones I am reading in our book club and I buy those for the Kindle–yes, I know, I know–but try running out of your house with enough books to last a month when there’s tree falling through the roof–and they aren’t always books that I want to give shelf space.

      For about two months right before the tree, we had been doing serious cleaning out of closets and rooms and I had given away probably 200 books. I would have given away more by now, but I’ve been a bit busy and far away.

      Anyway, because (in my normal life) I live so far out of town and have an hour commute each way to work, the library doesn’t work very well for me, although I do go there occasionally to get light reading. Most libraries don’t have the books I want, though. They give them away, which is why I have about half of them.

      AMDG

  13. Janet Cupo Says:

    I wouldn’t, however, mind babbling with Craig and Maclin.

    AMDG

  14. cburrell Says:

    Somewhere in the back of my mind is an uneasy feeling associated with building a tower to heaven. I can’t quite put my finger on it.

    I visit the library almost every week — Wednesdays, if anyone is interested — but, like Janet says, they do not have many of the books I want to read. Also, I am an incurable annotator of margins, in non-fiction books at least. I might like the library, but the library would not like me for very long.

    You should keep track of the books you read, Christina. Better yet, write a little something about each one when you’re done; I find those little notes are very helpful when I’m thinking back and wondering what the heck a particular book was about or what I got from it.

  15. cburrell Says:

    I recently heard an interview with Joseph Bottum, and they said he has 10,000 books in his house. I hope he has a big house.


  16. Just think of the amazing box forts that you are denying your children by not unpacking those books yet!

    Also, I like the idea of keeping a brief note about all the books you read. I did that for years, until I had kids, and became lazy.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 150 other followers

