Forthcoming

July 15, 2013

This is a pleasant surprise to me, and may be to you too:

Flannery

The publication date will be in November; I know what I want for Christmas. A brief description from The Millions:

When Flannery O’Connor was in her early 20s and a student at the Iowa Writers’ Workshop, she kept a journal which focused on her relationship with her faith. Recently discovered, this journal should be a fascinating prospect for anyone with an interest in O’Connor’s writing, inseparable as it is from her Catholic belief in sin and redemption. It dates from 1946-47, around the time she was writing the stories that would converge into her debut novel Wise Blood. It looks to have been an exercise in bringing herself closer to her God through the act of writing: “I do not mean to deny the traditional prayers I have said all my life; but I have been saying them and not feeling them. My attention is always fugitive. This way I have it every instant.”

6 Responses to “Forthcoming”

  1. Janet Says:

    That is so great. That reminds me, I have to check into. And that reminds me that I have to remember to get this http://www.amazon.com/Suitable-Accommodations-Autobiographical-Letters-1942-1963/dp/0374268061

    AMDG

  2. cburrell Says:

    I’ve seen that book before somewhere. I’ve actually never read anything by Powers. He’s good, is he?

  3. Janet Says:

    Probably on the Korrektiv blog.

    I really like him, but I don’t think everyone would. He writes about two things: priests and families in distress. I think the ones about priests are the best, but the priests he portrays live in a pre-VII world, and it may be that their world has gone forever. Still, I think they are very good. If you are interested in him, you should probably start with “Morte D’Urban.”

    AMDG

  4. cburrell Says:

    I will; thanks for the suggestion.

    I’m reading Malory’s “Morte d’Arthur” right now. Typographical coincidences are pretty minor festive occasions, but they oughtn’t to be passed over entirely in silence.

  5. my cat refuses to take his cancer meds Says:

    Wow this is great news.

    I love Powers, but I agree with Janet, it is not for everyone. Morte d’Urban often feels like the story of my life.


  6. Can’t wait to read this book.

    Agreed about Powers. If you don’t want to invest the time in a novel, try the short story “Prince of Darkness”. I think it’s a masterpiece on the same order as a lot of O’Connor’s work, though it’s nothing like hers.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

