Sight & Sound

August 2, 2012

The British Film Institute’s “Sight & Sound” list of great films has been refreshed. This is generally considered to be the most prestigious such list: it is compiled only every ten years, and the voters are a hand-picked crowd of eminent critics and directors.

Coverage of the new list is focusing on the fact that, for the first time in 50 years, Citizen Kane is not the number one film; that honour has now been granted to Hitchcock’s Vertigo. I regard such lists as providing recommendations for good films, but personally I don’t much care about the specific rankings.

Not that I have consulted such lists much. The proof is in the pudding: I have seen five of the new list’s top ten films, but only thirteen of the top fifty. Of those, there are really only two for which I have any particular affection: Singin’ in the Rain (#20) and Mulholland Drive (#28) — for very different reasons, obviously! How The Searchers landed so high on the list (#7) is incomprehensible to me. Evidently when it comes to great films I just don’t get it.

Roger Ebert is, as usual, pretty sensible in his commentary. Judging from what he says, the list published this week is the “Critic’s List”, and a separate “Director’s List” is still forthcoming.

2 Responses to “Sight & Sound”

  1. Mac Says:

    It certainly looks like an odd list to me. Such lists always do, but this a bit more than most. Vertigo at #1?!? I of course would include more Bergman. And I haven’t seen most of them, including The Searchers. Nice to see Uzo’s Late Spring. I haven’t seen Tokyo Story.

  2. cburrell Says:

    It so happens that I have Tokyo Story sitting here, so I should try to watch it sometime soon. I also don’t understand why Vertigo should be at the top, but then I didn’t understand why Citizen Kane was always at the top either.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

