Camino feet

July 19, 2012

Only a few people know the reason for this post; apologies to everyone else. The tube is blister ointment, and the wrap is therapy for overstretched tendons.

Ultreya, peregrina!

7 Responses to “Camino feet”

  1. Mac Says:

    Oh my goodness! I’m glad you tagged this as humor, because I can’t help laughing, although I doubt it was very funny to the victim. Should I ever get the desire to walk the Camino, I will certainly keep this in mind.

  2. cburrell Says:

    Any long hike will be merciless to one’s feet. When we hiked the West Highland Way a few years ago we had rain on our first day, and my feet got wet and blistered terribly. I didn’t think I would make it, but I discovered something interesting: the pain is worst when you start walking. After a while the blood and blister fluid lubricate the skin and it doesn’t hurt as much — until the next day, of course.

  3. Janet Says:

    How far did y’all walk on the Camino, Craig?

    AMDG

  4. cburrell Says:

    Not far. We started in a town called Sarria, which, on foot, is about 110 km from Santiago. One has to walk at least 100 km in order to get the official certificate of completion. We walked only 5 or 6 days.

    Someday I would love to go back and walk the whole thing.

  5. cburrell Says:

    Sorry, Janet: 110 km = 68 miles

  6. Janet Says:

    Thanks. I’m pretty good at converting all that metric stuff.

    Looks like her left foot held up a lot better than her right.

    AMDG

  7. cburrell Says:

    Which is odd, because the left foot is the one used to tread upon the devil. On pilgrimage it is usually a little worse for wear.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

