Five alive

January 19, 2012

Time flies when you’re having fun: yesterday was this blog’s fifth birthday! It has been a very good year, once again. Allow me to extend my sincere thanks to all who take the time to peer at the goings-on here. It wouldn’t be the same without you.

Some nerd-fodder: if I am counting correctly the blog had about 56000 hits in the past year, for an average of about 150/day. This is roughly 40% higher than in the previous year, which makes me think I’ve made a mistake in my calculations. About 9000 of those hits were for one or another of the posts that appeared during the Antarctica month blog-a-thon, which took place last February.

Not counting Antarctica-themed posts, the three most popular posts during the past year were all Book Notes: on Alain Erlande-Brandenburg’s Castles and Cathedrals: Building in the Middle Ages, on Iris Murdoch’s The Sovereignty of Good, and on Richard Rhodes’ The Making of the Atomic Bomb. As usual, I am surprised at what is popular and what is not.

I do not know how to discover the number of comments left on the blog in the past year — but I do know how much I appreciate each one of them. I can tell you that the WordPress spam filter prevented 13996 spam comments from appearing, and I appreciate that too.

Thanks again!

10 Responses to “Five alive”

  1. jopomojo Says:

    Many happy returns of the day! All Manner of Thing is like Korrektiv’s un-evil twin, and a beautiful thing. Good work.

  2. Janet Says:

    Happy Birthday! I love this blog.

    AMDG

  3. cburrell Says:

    Thanks, both of you. I don’t think I can compete with Korrektiv, and I don’t try, but I do appreciate that you look in on me now and then.

    Janet, I think you are my most prolific commenter. More comments like this one are always welcome.

  4. Doug Says:

    Happy Birthday! A great source for book and music tips. /Doug

  5. Janet Says:

    Janet, I think you are my most prolific commenter.

    Yeah, I think that’s why you get all those hits. ;-)

    AMDG

  6. cburrell Says:

    Fine with me!

    Thanks, Doug. Much appreciated.

  7. Mac Says:

    My regularly-visited blogs are down to half a dozen or so, of which this is one. Congratulations, and keep on.

  8. cburrell Says:

    Thanks, Mac. I can say the same about yours.

  9. Grumpy Ex Pat Says:

    I enjoy the blog a lot. The best recommendation I got from you was a documentary about Messaien.

  10. cburrell Says:

    Thanks, Grumps. I don’t remember that documentary!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

