JesusWeen

October 12, 2011

As I was driving to work this morning I found myself parked behind a city bus sporting an ad for something called JesusWeen.

The idea — due, as I am sure is clear, to our evangelical Protestant friends — is that there should be a wholesome alternative to Halloween and that it should have a ridiculous name. They would like to replace the dark and evil overtones of Halloween with something more within the ambit of Christian culture.

I am not saying this is a bad idea, but does it fall to me to suggest the obvious?

3 Responses to “JesusWeen”

  1. Janet Says:

    Yes, those did leap to mind.

    AMDG

  2. cburrell Says:

    It is interesting that the often savvy marketing instincts of evangelicals seem to have entirely deserted this group. I don’t know that I could think of a worse name for this event. At first I thought it might be a mocking spoof from some atheist group, but apparently not.

  3. Mac Says:

    It is a really horrible name. As evangelicals they couldn’t use All Saints–not that they don’t think there are saints, but the term is too closely associated with praying to them. There is a more-than-slightly irreverent rock group called Ween, and my first thought was that this some reference to them. It is not unknown for rock musicians who want to be edgy to yoke the name of Jesus to some trivial or unpleasant word. I’m afraid in this case the evangelicals are doing the mockers’ work for them.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

