Antarctica: the gift that keeps on giving

September 15, 2011

Back in February I did a month-long blog-a-thon about Antarctica. To my surprise, those posts have continued to pull in quite a few readers, even through the hot, hot summer months. Today, for instance, I notice that this blog’s ‘Top Posts Today’ ticker-tape, which tracks hits during the past 24 hours, is dominated by Antarctic themes:

That’s four of five about Antarctica. It gives me the chills.

5 Responses to “Antarctica: the gift that keeps on giving”

  1. Christina A. Says:

    And we just watched Encounter at the End of the World the other night on your recommendation – so the Antarctic fascination you inspired lives on…

    Love the scene with the deranged penguin! And the guy who carries a kayak around in his backpack.

  2. cburrell Says:

    Correction: you watched it on my disrecommendation. I didn’t like it. There are, however, quite a few Antarctic films that I do like.

  3. Christina A. Says:

    Hahahaha – Jim selected it and mentioned that it was your suggestion via the blog! In any case, it was thanks to the blog that I watched it and I thought it was hilarious! We probably have some difference in taste regarding antarctic movies ;).

    On my way downstairs to watch a few library DVDs right now….

  4. Mac Says:

    “…even through the hot, hot summer months.” Especially then, I would think. I know Antarctica is a very pleasant thought to me in the middle of August.

  5. cburrell Says:

    That’s a good point. I wished myself there too, once or twice (until I actually checked the temperature there).


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

