“Mom, I got my picture in the paper”

June 16, 2011

I hope the police find this gentleman:

The streets of Vancouver erupted into riots last night after the Vancouver Canucks lost the Stanley Cup to the Boston Bruins. My sister had to drive through the city after the game, and she says it was scary. Judging from these photos, I can see what she means. Idiots.

On top of the inherent criminality of the riots, it is a pity that they overshadow the night’s positive news: the Stanley Cup was won by the most deserving team. Congratulations to the Boston Bruins!

5 Responses to ““Mom, I got my picture in the paper””

  1. Mac Says:

    This has been quite a shock to many of us in the USA who are accustomed to think of Canadians as better behaved than our urban crowds who gather to express themselves on such occasions.

  2. cburrell Says:

    So it was reported in the US as well? I wasn’t sure if that would be the case. I guess now we know what it takes to get the world’s attention.

  3. Mac Says:

    Oh, most definitely. I noticed on Facebook several people in U.S. cities that have experienced this sort of thing writing things like “Dear Vancouver, so nice of you to take the spotlight off us…” etc.

    Anything to this, I wonder?: http://www.vancouversun.com/news/Vancouver+mayor+police+chief+blame+Stanley+riot+anarchists/4958411/story.html

  4. Reg Says:

    You got your wish! CBC’s National did a story on him 17-Jun.

  5. cburrell Says:

    The picture above was on the front page of the Toronto Star today, in connection with a story about friends and relations turning people in based on published photos.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

