Good Friday: The Reproaches

April 22, 2011

Popule meus, quid feci tibi?
aut in quo constristavi te?
responde mihi.

O my people, what have I done to you?
How have I offended you?
Answer me.

Catholics who belong to the Latin Rite (which is most of us) should all be hearing the Reproaches from the Cross today, in one way or another. I consider them to be among the most dramatic and moving words we hear all year. Sadly, many of us will not hear them at all. If your parish skipped them, you can click on the video above to hear the Gregorian setting. Full English translation here.

4 Responses to “Good Friday: The Reproaches”

  1. Janet Says:

    We did not have these. Makes me sad.

    AMDG

  2. cburrell Says:

    This year, for the first time, I heard the Gregorian settings sung during the liturgy. It was wonderful. I’d have enjoyed it even more if my daughter had not been trying to get out the back door at the time.

  3. Janet Says:

    I can’t tell you how much I enjoy watching other people’s little children do things like that. It’s not that I’m thinking, “Oh thank goodness they have to deal with it and not I,” it’s more that I am just enjoying the kiddiness of the kids.

    AMDG

  4. cburrell Says:

    I enjoy the kiddiness too. I must say that being the parent of a toddler has really changed my perspective on the whole debate about “active participation” in the liturgy!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

