Puffy penguin omelette

February 20, 2011

This dish blends traditional French cuisine with an Antarctic surprise. Perfect for lunch and a lite dinner as well as breakfast.

Ingredients

  • 2 penguin wings, minced
  • 3 penguin eggs, separated
  • 2-1/2 tablespoons milk
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 large tomato, peeled and diced
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 1/4 teaspoon Bud Ice (chilled)
  • 1/8 teaspoon dillweed

Preparation

Separate egg yolks from whites. First beat egg whites until stiff. In separate bowl, beat egg yolks until thick. Add in milk, salt and pepper into egg yolks, stirring stiffly. Fold egg yolk mix gently into egg white mix.

Place skillet in oven pre-heated to 300°F. Coat bottom of skillet with butter. Pour omelette mix into skillet and bake until puffy and light brown. While baking, dice tomato, onion and penguin wings, and add with Bud Ice into sour cream.

When omelette is ready, pour penguin mix into omelette. Fold omelette and remove from oven. Pour remainder of penguin mix over top of omelette.

(Recipe courtesy The Penguin Recipe Page)

8 Responses to “Puffy penguin omelette”

  1. Janet Says:

    Well, I would have thought that no one could possibly convince me to eat penguin, but that recipe would tempt the most nauseated palate.

    One question. Do you have to use a puffy penguin? Because I’m trying to lose some weight and I think a slimmer penguin might work better for me.

    And then, it seems so wasteful. Do you have any ideas for the remainder of the penguin?

    AMDG

  2. Christina A. Says:

    I’ll have to invite myself over for dinner when you make this next time. Can I bring my Leopard Seal along too? We both like penguinsies!

  3. KathyB Says:

    Well, I had some leftover penguin in the fridge that I didn’t know what to do with, so thanks for posting this ;)

  4. cburrell Says:

    Sorry for the silence on my end, folks. We’ve been away for a few days.

    I’m delighted that the recipe is appealing. Don’t neglect to include the 1/4 teaspoon of Bud Ice. It is essential.

    Janet, it is my understanding that the remainder of the penguin, consisting of mostly fat, can be melted down and used to grease the pan for the omelette. You can also drink it.

    Fabulous picture, yes?

  5. Janet Says:

    It’s not that I’m speechless, it’s just that I’m having a hard time swallowing.

    AMDG

  6. cburrell Says:

    That’s a normal part of it.

  7. Janet Says:

    BTW, when I stop commenting in a couple of weeks, it won’t be because I am no longer charmed by your posts, but because I will be offline for Lent.

    AMDG

  8. cburrell Says:

    When I stop responding to comments, in a week or so, it will be because I’ve completed this Antarctica blogging project and have collapsed from fatigue (and cold).

    Not really, of course. Writing a new post for each day has been challenging, but I’ve been enjoying it. I do think, though, that I’ll take a little break when the month is over.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

