Fantastic four

January 18, 2011

Today marks four years since the inauguration of All Manner of Thing. If I were President of the United States my term would be finished and I would be campaigning for re-election, but, seeing as I am instead Dictator-in-Chief, I intend to simply carry on as usual.

To celebrate the day, allow me to distribute gifts — in the form of ‘Thank You’s — to everyone who takes the time to visit this weblog. I am well aware that there can be no obligation in such matters. You have my humble and hearty thanks. Special thanks to those who trouble themselves to add their own thoughts to my posts; I really do enjoy reading and responding to comments.

WordPress sent me a “blog health report” at the end of 2010, and All Manner of Thing has a “Wow!” rating, which is evidently intended in a good sense. We had nearly 40 000 visitors in 2010, which is a record.

Onward, then, and maybe also upward! Thanks for reading.

17 Responses to “Fantastic four”

  1. Christina A. Says:

    Happy Birthday!

    You do a good job here and 40,000 visitors is something to be proud of!

  2. cburrell Says:

    Thanks, Christina. Much appreciated.

  3. Mac Says:

    Congratulations. This is one of my small number of must-read blogs. You do a great job.

  4. will Says:

    Congratulations for the blog! I first came here because of the Hebdomadal Chesterton, and have been an active reader ever since, but usually too lazy a reader to leave any comments.

    Keep the good work, especially the inspired musical commentary…

    Will (from Brazil)

  5. cburrell Says:

    Thanks, Mac. It is kind of you to say so. The sentiment is mutual.

    It is great to hear from you, Will. Lovers of Chesterton will always be welcome here. Thank you for your kind comments about the music posts; sometimes I am not sure whether people enjoy those posts or not, since they don’t seem to generate much commentary. For your information, the next entry in the “Great moments in opera” series is scheduled for Mozart’s birthday, a week or two hence.

  6. KathyB Says:

    If you were running for president, you should have started campaigning at least a year ago :)

    Happy blog-birthday, and if my comments are annoying, thank you for tactfully not saying so :)

  7. cburrell Says:

    Annoying? The thought never crossed my mind.

    Each day I have occasion to be thankful that I am not the President. That I need not campaign for re-election is just one of the reasons.

  8. Adam Hincks Says:

    Sorry to be the one to probe the details, but is 4e4 the number of unique visitors (e.g., unique IP addresses) or the number of hits (or sessions)? I suspect the latter, but this is still impressive: if each unique visitor hits the site once a day, that’s more than one hundred visitors total, which is probably a safely conservative lower bound.

  9. cburrell Says:

    I actually don’t know the answer to that question, Adam, but, like you, I suspect the latter answer.

  10. Janet Says:

    A Happy Belated Birthday to your blog. I only read 3 on a regular basis and this is one. You have a nice balance of information, commentary, and ridiculousness.

    AMDG

  11. Janet Says:

    And then, your daughter is cute.

    AMDG

  12. Janet Says:

    Ummm. Your blog just chastised me. I’m not sure that my ego can deal with digital correction.

    AMDG

  13. cburrell Says:

    Ridiculousness, Janet? Surely not.

    Thanks for liking the pictures of our daughter. You must be frequently disappointed, though, when you don’t find them. My wife, sensibly enough, asks that I not post pictures of her, willy-nilly, all over the place.

    I am not sure why you would have been chastised. Perhaps multiple comments in quick succession triggers the spam alert. I apologize on behalf of the blog. Hey, have you seen this?

  14. Janet Says:

    It was quite rude. It said something like YOU’RE POSTING TOO FAST. SLOW DOWN

    Anyway, I’m going to order a truckload of paper email and send it to all my friends.

    AMDG

  15. Molly Says:

    A most hearty congratulations on your four years! It is hard to say what I like best about your blog: the opera/classical music posts are both enjoyable and educational, the book reviews are intriguing (if a little hard on the wallet on occasion). . .and now we get all this and Antarctica too!

    Admittedly, if I wish you many, many more years of the same, it is far from selfless of me. . .but that I wish you, nonetheless.

  16. cburrell Says:

    I thank you very much, Molly, for your kind words. Heavens, have you actually bought a book based on something I said? I must remember to watch what I say…

    I’ve looked at your blog, and it is very interesting! Anyone who splashes a quotation from Chesterton across her banner is most welcome here.


  17. Bravo! A blog that brims over with erudition and grace. Thanks for keeping at it.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

