PC or Mac: Decision time

August 30, 2010

A couple of people have wondered about the outcome of my computer-purchase deliberations.  I am happy to say that this past weekend I placed an order for one of these sweethearts:

I haven’t got it yet, but it should arrive in a week or so.  What finally pushed me toward Apple was the fact that we got the “educational discount” on account of my wife’s being a student.  It’s only a small discount, but we also got several hundred dollars worth of free stuff that I can turn around and sell.  (Anybody want an iPod Touch or a printer?) That brought the price down far enough to make it feasible.   I am still a little worried that I spent too much, but, at the end of the day, financial problems are not insurmountable.  There are always options.

My thanks to everyone who offered advice as I was trying to make up my mind.  I appreciate it.

9 Responses to “PC or Mac: Decision time”

  1. Janet Cupo Says:

    If you would send me the iPod Touch, you could keep your CDs.

    AMDG

  2. cburrell Says:

    Sure, Janet. That’s a deal. I’ll mail it just as soon as Maclin’s stereo arrives.

  3. Janet Says:

    Great!

    Seriously, though, are you really selling one? How much and would it be more trouble than it’s worth getting it from there to here?

  4. Christina A. Says:

    I heard somewhere that your wife is said to be worth a few thousand camels…Just in case you want to hang on to your kidney, you could always sell her instead? I’d save baby Iona for when you are ready for a sports car, she’s probably your most valuable asset.

  5. cburrell Says:

    Well, Janet, the one I have is an 8GB iPod Touch, which sells in Canada for $220. Since iPods never go on sale at retail stores, I am hoping to sell it with only a small discount — say, $190. That’s US$180. They normally sell for US$200, so it would be a little cheaper. By the time one throws in shipping charges, it would be almost the same price. But no taxes! (Do you have sales taxes down there?)

    Six thousand camels was the precise amount I was offered, Christina, but even then I was not tempted to sell.

  6. Janet Cupo Says:

    Well, I think I’ll pass on that. It was pretty much wishful thinking anyway.

    AMDG

  7. cburrell Says:

    That’s alright. I am going to try the local Craig’s List. I think that I will meet with success.

  8. Christina A. Says:

    I’d aim more for Kijiji – Craigslist is famous for re-sale of stolen electronic gear. I’d also put in my ad that you can provide proof of your purchase of the item to the buyer.
    Really, you have to wonder why all the cell phones on Craigslist that are normally $700 were going for $100…

  9. cburrell Says:

    That’s a good tip, thanks.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

