Master of the culinary art

July 27, 2010

The sidebar of this weblog promises the occasional “failed recipe”. These do appear once in a while, but not often, mostly because I am such a good cook.  It occurs to me, however, that I might satisfy “foodies” by also writing about those especially successful culinary inspirations that strike me from time to time.

The other night, for instance, I laboured long over a special meal for my wife and I to celebrate our new house. The new kitchen is several times larger and more beautiful than the old, and I had a wonderful time putting all of my culinary abilities to use to prepare an appetizing meal:

Haut cuisine: before

On an ordinary night we’d have been satisfied with that, but on this night we felt that the special occasion called for a special nous ne savons quoi to really make the meal memorable. And then it struck me: a garnish.

Haut cuisine: after

That, my friends, was a meal that will not be soon forgotten.

10 Responses to “Master of the culinary art”

  1. Janet Cupo Says:

    I know that there is some secret message to be found in the arrangement of the food on the plate, but I have yet to find it.

    AMDG

  2. cburrell Says:

    I’m afraid you’re trying too hard, Janet. This post is literally just about food. Nothing hidden. Sorry to disappoint.

  3. Janet Cupo Says:

    Of course that is what you would say.

    AMDG

  4. cburrell Says:

    It is sort of nice to be thought more clever than I am.

  5. Christina A. Says:

    2 pieces of toast, half a piece of meat and some garnish – looks like you were one step short of a sandwich.

    Your new kitchen probably deserves better than this!

  6. cburrell Says:

    What step was I short?

  7. Christina A. Says:

    I think you just needed to do some stacking.

  8. cburrell Says:

    Or to undo the explosion.


  9. I thought my cooking skills had shown some progress recently, but one glance at this hurls my pretensions back down to earth. I bow.

  10. Dave Says:

    Well done, very funny.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

