Websensed

June 27, 2010

This is sort of gratifying:

On the other hand, it puts me in Bad Catholic company.

*

I just looked at the Wikipedia page for Websense, and I noticed that their corporate motto is “Essential Information Protection”.  Let me see if I understand: they prevent people from accessing public information, and they call it “information protection”.  That’s kind of creepy.

8 Responses to “Websensed”

  1. Christina A. Says:

    Do I dare comment on here anymore, or will a little robot track my IP and show up at my house with a weapon and threats to seize my laptop in a matter of minutes?
    I will be waiting in the shed, armed with a pitchfork.

  2. cburrell Says:

    A pitchfork will be woefully inadequate against these folks. Remember, they control the internet.

  3. Janet Says:

    What Is that thing? What does it mean?

    AMDG

  4. cburrell Says:

    It’s an internet filter that employers can use to limit the sites that their employees visit. For instance, it can prevent someone (like me) from responding to a comment left by someone else (like you) until he is home from work.

  5. KathyB Says:

    So, you were secretly looking at traditional religious websites while at work, and got busted? Oh, I hope the scandal will not become public!

  6. Janet Says:

    You mean to say that I can say all manner of nasty thing here during the day and you can’t do anything about it?

    AMDG

  7. cburrell Says:

    Exactly. The only catch is that it’s not so easy to know when I am, or am not, at work!

  8. Janet Says:

    Curses! Foiled again!

    AMDG


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

