Sunday night Mumford & Sons

April 25, 2010

Sigh No More, the debut album from a British outfit called Mumford & Sons, is one of the best records I’ve heard in the past year.  They’ve a pleasing acoustic texture that fits me like an old and comfortable sweater, with attractively scratchy tenor vocals, and the words of the songs gesture, at least, at the deeps.

Here is a song from the record called “The Cave”.  I am not sure I think much of the “concept” in this video, as it seems more of a distraction, or at least incidental to the point of the song, but I suppose that is true of most such things.

There’s one bit in the words that I especially like.  It goes like this:

But I will hold on hope
And I won’t let you choke
On the noose around your neck

The obvious word to end that last line is “throat”, not “neck”, since it would be at least a rough rhyme, and “neck” doesn’t rhyme with anything.  It reminds me of something Lyle Lovett did back on The Road to Ensenada, in a song called “Her First Mistake”:

Yes, my dear, I know exactly what you mean
There’s not so much I haven’t done or seen
And may I say that your eyes
Are the loveliest shade of jade?

One expects “green” in that last line, of course; “jade” is jarring, but then it picks up the internal rhyme and ends up being witty.  Mumford & Sons aren’t witty in that sense, at least not here.  Anyway, this is a pretty insubstantial talking point, so let me bring this preamble to a close.  Here is the song:

If you like that, I recommend listening also to the record’s title track, which is terrific.  It gathers steam as it goes, so don’t give up too soon.

3 Responses to “Sunday night Mumford & Sons”

  1. godescalc Says:

    I got this recently, and it is indeed an excellent album. The track “Little Lion Man” is also very worth looking up on youtube (tho with a caveat for judiciously-used anglosaxon).

  2. cburrell Says:

    Yes, “Little Lion Man” is probably the catchiest of the bunch, but that same robust use of Anglo-Saxon deterred me from posting it here. This is a family blog.

    I noticed that the band has made a professional music video for the song, and in it I expected the robust Anglo-Saxon to be moderated, but, to my surprise, it was not. I guess it has been a long time since I saw MTV.

  3. godescalc Says:

    Last I watched, MTV seemed to be more about giving robust competition to strip clubs than actual music. Wall-to-wall skanky ladies singing the praises of their own booty. Perhaps I tuned in at the wrong time…


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 159 other followers

