“Marketing” opera

January 19, 2010

This is the best thing I’ve seen in a while.  An enterprising opera company in Valencia hit on a great way to promote their music: they seeded a local market with singers, who broke into song in the middle of a shopping day.  The smiles and tears of the customers are a delight to see.  One almost expects the fruit monger to sing opera in Italy, but not so much in Spain.  Well, the surprise is part of the pleasure.

It is one thing to hear an opera singer on a recording, and quite another to hear them live, especially in a small space.  I used to attend opera master classes at the local faculty of music just to hear the young singers in an intimate setting, and I never ceased to be amazed at just how big their voices are.  It is thrilling to hear them, and that thrill comes through well in this video.

I will give 100 pretend dollars to anyone who can identify the music they are singing.

(Hat-tip: Sound Mind)

7 Responses to ““Marketing” opera”

  1. IMSutra BEST - BONUS Says:

    Want some awesome IMSutra BONUS???
    You’ll get many BONUSs that never you got…
    I can’t calculate my current BONUS price
    because there are too much price of those
    BONUS that I’ll give you FREE….

  2. cburrell Says:

    You don’t say? Well, I never!

  3. Nick Milne Says:

    It seems to be a sort of modern poem.

  4. cburrell Says:

    It takes a while to puzzle out the meaning — as with much modern poetry — but the pay-off is worth it. BONUS.

  5. Abby Wright Says:

    This reminds me a lot of Improv Everywhere’s stunts (http://improveverywhere.com/2009/10/20/grocery-store-musical/). I may have to remember this if I’m ever in an opera that needs extra promoting! :)

  6. cburrell Says:

    I hadn’t seen Improv Everywhere before, but that’s funny. The opera singers have better music. 8)

  7. Janet Says:

    This is the first chance I’ve had to watch the video. It’s great!

    AMDG


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

