Аз бих харесвал хот-дог, моля.

October 15, 2009

Things have been quiet around here of late on account of my world travels and altered domestic circumstances (about which more later, perhaps).  In any case, I have returned from my journey to the Balkans, where I passed an enjoyable few days in Sofia, the capital of Bulgaria, and surrounding area.  Sofia is in many ways a beautiful city, and I wandered her streets happily.  She is home to an impressive number of beautiful churches and monumental civic buildings.  There are signs, none too subtle, of economic difficulties, and I am told that the country wages an exhausting battle against corruption and organized crime.  I don’t doubt that is true, but I can say that the city was a good host to this visitor.

I regret that I did not have much occasion to sample the local cuisine.  This is entirely my own fault.  I have the perverse habit of craving Chinese food when I travel; there is precious little of it available in Bulgaria, as far as I can tell, and even less Vietnamese or Thai, but my wandering eye wandered nonetheless.  I can say this: Bulgarians make excellent pizza.

The language barrier was not too much of an issue, as I managed to make myself understood, more or less, when necessary.   The nodding/shaking problem did not really arise.  I grappled manfully with the Cyrillic script, and emerged chastened but satisfied with my performance.

Anyone interested in seeing a few photos, complete with explanatory captions, can look here.

Sofia-Silhouette

6 Responses to “Аз бих харесвал хот-дог, моля.”

  1. Nick Milne Says:

    We’re glad to have you back. I hope you weren’t subjected to any wanton bulgarity during your trip, though I suppose it would be almost unavoidable.

  2. cburrell Says:

    Regrettably, bulgarity was rampant and I was exposed to it constantly.

  3. Christina A. Says:

    Translation of the post title please…Or you could start a contest on guesses…

    I’ll posit a guess, “May I have a large pizza, please.”

  4. cburrell Says:

    I think I’ll let the speculations continue for a bit longer, should anyone else feel inclined to offer one. You’re not far from the mark. This might help.

  5. Mike Says:

    The word “hot-dog” jumped out at me. All the rest seems to be actual Bulgarian, so I’m no use there.

    It looks like a nice country. I like the juxtaposition of the 14th century church squeezed in by freeway (it looks like?) on one side.

  6. cburrell Says:

    We have a winner!

    As I do whenever I visit a non-English speaking country, I was wandering the streets sounding out the signs, when I came across “хот-дог”. Imagine my surprise when I realized what it said.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

