Get thee to a punnery

July 30, 2009

The other day my wife and I were walking to the store to buy a pie.

Wife: “We should have pie à la mode.”

Me: “If one used distributed computing to find new digits of pi, that would be pi à la modem.”

Wife: “What would the mode of pi be?”

Me: “The most frequent digit in pi.”

Wife: “Wouldn’t that be a finger?”

Life is good.

7 Responses to “Get thee to a punnery”

  1. Nick Milne Says:

    Wife is good too, apparently

  2. cburrell Says:

    Badum-ching! Nice work.

  3. Janet Says:

    This is my favorite thing I’ve read all week.

    AMDG

  4. cburrell Says:

    Thanks, Janet. Surely not better than Dr. Johnson’s definition of “lexicographer”?

  5. Janet Says:

    That was last week. I have since then endured a week of drudgery. I hope it was harmless.

    AMDG

  6. cburrell Says:

    I am going to need a new drum if I have to keep making these rimshots.

  7. Janet Says:

    Yeah, I think that about myself all the time.

    AMDG


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 151 other followers

