Miss Dashwood and Leviathan

July 16, 2009

A few months ago I drew notice to a new book which was attempting to breathe new life — if that is the right word — into Jane Austen’s literary legacy.  Pride and Prejudice and Zombies has since proved a smashing commercial success, and the publisher, not surprisingly, is having another go at it.  Here is the “trailer” for the forthcoming Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters:

I see that Nick Milne at The Daily Kraken has also taken notice, and he provides more information, including news about a number of other titles that are planned.  Among them: Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter.  My goodness, these publishers have created a monster.

6 Responses to “Miss Dashwood and Leviathan”

  1. Nick Milne Says:

    The “trailer” is news to me. Amazing.

  2. cburrell Says:

    And awfully gruesome.

    I looked around for a “trailer” for the first book, but found none. I wouldn’t be at all surprised if there’s a bona fide film deal in the works though.

  3. KathyB Says:

    Daniel actually attempted to make one, but our computer just couldn’t do it.
    I foolishly lent the zombie book to a friend who promised to return it within the week, and whom I now won’t be able to see for the rest of the summer.

  4. Janet Says:

    My daughter got this for her birthday, so I’ll have to borrow it.

    AMDG

  5. cburrell Says:

    You’ll have to let me know what you think of it, Janet. ‘Happy birthday’ to your daughter as well.

  6. Janet Says:

    Tonight, I watched the end of Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell. There’s a scene where the happy couple are standing with their backs to a pond and it scared the heck out of me!

    AMDG


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

