Year of the Priest Film Festival

June 30, 2009

The gentleman proprietors of Korrektiv, along with a few of their friends, have struck on a good idea: mark the newly minted Year of the Priest by reviewing the portrayal of priests and the priesthood on film.  They have put together a list of 52 films (plus some alternates) in which the priesthood plays an important role, and we are encouraged to watch one film each week throughout the next year.

I have seen only a handful of these films, and (considering that I have watched only one film in the last three months) I think it unlikely that I will find the time to participate fully in this enterprise, yet the list is very interesting and I commend it to film buffs and ecclesiastical connoisseurs alike.

2 Responses to “Year of the Priest Film Festival”

  1. Rufus McCain Says:

    Thanks for posting this.

    As an update, I’ve posted reviews of the first three movies on the list. I’m awarding two grades to each movie: (1) overall merits and (2) the priest factor. So far San Francisco is in the lead with an A- in both categories; and Boys Town is trailing with a D+ overall and a C- for the priest factor.

    I also corrected the chronology: the Devil at 4 O’Clock actually came out in 1961, not 1941.

    I should also point out that the films were not necessarily chosen to highlight orthodox or uplifting representations of priests, but rather to provoke thought and dialogue about the priesthood.

  2. cburrell Says:

    I’ve been following your weekly reviews, Rufus, and enjoying them — in lieu of watching the films myself, I have to say. I simply haven’t got any time these days. The scoring system is a good idea, and if it should happen that I have time to watch some films I will certainly be guided by your recommendations. Remember that with great power comes great responsibility.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

