Books in brief

May 26, 2009

Since the birth of my beautiful daughter my reading time has declined precipitously, and, in consequence, I have begun casting about for shorter, more easily digestible books.  Time for writing Book Notes has also been disappearing, so I am resorting to briefer summaries.  Here are Notes on a few books that recently crossed my path.

Do Not Read This Book
Pat Moon and Sarah Nayler (Orchard, 2001)
160 p.  First non-reading.

I wish they had titled it Do Not Buy This Book, because I would have saved a few dollars.  Imagine my dismay when I returned home and took a closer look.  After I stewed a while in a terrible quandary, into the trashcan it went.

Burn This Book
Toni Morrison, Ed. (HarperStudio, 2009)
128 p.  First burning.

This book came into my hands a short time ago, and I was thankful for it.  We had a few cool evenings, but were able to stay comfortably warm.  Highly recommended.

The Book Nobody Read
Owen Gingerich (Walker & Co., 2004)
306 p.  First shunning.

Who am I to argue with popular opinion?  If nobody’s reading this book, I’m not about to break rank.  The author’s time would have been better spent plotting epicycles.

Not For Publication
Nadine Gordimer (Viking, 1965)
First overlooking.

I have a friend in the publishing industry, and from time to time I hear stories about the incompetence of editors and publishers.  But just consider the concatenation of printing blunders and editorial mishaps that must have occurred for this book to appear.  The mind reels.  Respecting the author’s intentions, I have refused to read it.

Eat This Book
Eugene H. Peterson (Eerdmans, 2006)
186 p.  First digestion.

I have enjoyed one or two of Eugene Peterson’s books in the past, but my enjoyment of this one was unprecedented.

4 Responses to “Books in brief”

  1. Adam Hincks Says:

    One of those books also recently crossed my path.

  2. cburrell Says:

    I saw that, Adam, and it set me thinking along these lines. Thanks for the inspiration.

  3. Janet Says:

    You are funny, funny.
    AMDG, Janet

  4. Rufus McCain Says:

    Welcome to parenthood! There’s also the ever popular Shoot This Book, by Hunter S. Thompson.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 123 other followers

