Sunday night ultimatum

November 23, 2008

This may not be the most appropriate way to mark the Feast of Christ the King [*], but I’ve had Bob on the brain for a few weeks now and can’t escape.  It is only rock ‘n roll, but the song nonetheless makes a point: none of us are truly sovereign.  Inevitably, whether we like it or not, we serve.  Bob says, “Choose wisely.”

[*] It is at least more appropriate than what they’re doing over at the Shrine.

9 Responses to “Sunday night ultimatum”

  1. Janet Says:

    I heard him sing that in concert once. It was an interesting evening. The only time I ever went to a concert and came home with beer in my hair, but then, it’s been a long, long time since I went to a concert.

    AMDG,
    Janet

  2. cburrell Says:

    I guess you got served!

    I’ve seen Bob in concert three times now, but he did not sing this song at any of them. I don’t think it’s one of his best songs anyway, but I do like the video this person made for it.


  3. I think it’s quite good for a post-1970 Dylan song–best on that album, if I remember correctly, although it’s not that good an album overall. Anyway, this is really good.

    Something that you might not have noted, but which is surely not an accident: around the 2:00 mark there’s an image of a kid in a Burzum t-shirt. Burzum is the name of probably the most consciously and genuinely evil of the Scandinavian death-metal bands.

  4. cburrell Says:

    I did not notice that T-shirt until you pointed it out. In any case, I had never heard of Burzum before. They make the “Choose you this day whom you will serve” all that more emphatic, don’t they?

    I think it is great that you are our resident expert on heavy metal. (By the way, I listened to Tristania on your recommendation, and quite enjoyed them. There’s something there.)

  5. Christina A. Says:

    Excellent video. Actually, makes perfect sense for Feast of Christ the King.

  6. cburrell Says:

    Thanks, Christina. At what point does the celebration of a festival become so inadequate that it belittles the festival? Feast of Christ the King, meet rock song. This is close to the line, but I’m glad you don’t think I crossed it. I didn’t want to cross it.

  7. Christina A. Says:

    You know me, Craig, I’m a music video junkie without cable tv! I don’t usually get the sublime meaning and intricacy of baroque-style classical music with lyrics I can’t understand. However, give it to me in a simple, slow rock song with a home-made music video containing images that literally “spell out” the song…then I’m set!

    I blame the 1980s for my problem.


  8. I don’t know if I quite make the grade as “expert” on heavy metal, but I do probably know more about it than the average 60-year-old Catholic, perhaps more than is healthy. Glad you liked Tristania. Unfortunately their wonderful classical-voiced singer left the group and last I heard had been replaced with somebody much more conventional.

  9. cburrell Says:

    Christina, the 1980s are to blame for many musical sins, and the decade corrupted the tastes of vast multitudes. You are not alone. Did you know that there were only four good albums released in the 1980s?

    Maclin, you qualify as an expert around here. I know about Metallica and Iron Maiden, but I think one must have to learn quite a lot before one learns about Burzum. You’re well advanced.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers

