Yesterday’s tomorrow today

November 18, 2008

It’s 8 a.m., Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2008.  I’m about to hop into my sleek, two-passenger air-cushion car and head off to my four-hour work day.  It looks cold and gloomy out there; the weather dome must be malfunctioning.  Isn’t it great to live in the future?

(HT: Light on Dark Water)

3 Responses to “Yesterday’s tomorrow today”

  1. Adam Hincks Says:

    What a neat article. I’m glad though that I don’t have to eat TV dinners off of disposable plates every night. And it’s nice not to have to reserve time on the city or regional computer to meet my computing needs. Now, if only my personal computer would get back to me with those fertilizer levels.

  2. Christina A. Says:

    This is SO crazy!

    Actually, on the farming thing, I think it might almost be as computerized as predicted. I learned this summer that many farmers simply plough/seed one line of the field and then set a GPS system to run the tractor the rest of the way. And think about the fact that most of our livestock now has electronic chip implants!

    Not only does the computer do most of the things predicted in the article, most of them fit into people’s pockets now!

  3. cburrell Says:

    I did not know about those high-tech farming practices. Does that actually work? I remember driving the tractor when I was a boy, and there were always obstacles — big rocks, tree stumps, dead animals — to steer around. The field would have to be pretty tidy to allow an autopilot tractor.

    Some of the imaginings in the article are surprisingly close to the truth, aren’t they? The idea that one could access books and other information through the TV, or shop “online” and have the goods delivered. The space-age elements have really not turned out though. Are where are the underwater resorts?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 160 other followers

