Ring and crown

April 28, 2008

“Marriage is more than your love for each other. It has a higher dignity and power, for it is God’s holy ordinance, through which he wills to perpetuate the human race until the end of time. In your love you see only your two selves in the world, but in marriage you are a link in the chain of the generations, which God causes to come and to pass away to his glory, and calls into his kingdom. In your love you see only the heaven of your own happiness, but in marriage you are placed at a post of responsibility towards the world and mankind. Your love is your own private possession, but marriage is more than something personal — it is a status, an office. Just as it is the crown, and not merely the will to rule, that makes the king, so it is marriage, and not merely your love for each other, that joins you together in the sight of God and man.”

– Dietrich Bonhoeffer (1943).

8 Responses to “Ring and crown”

  1. Adam Hincks Says:

    Are you thinking of getting married?

  2. cburrell Says:

    Funny that you should ask. I have been giving the matter a little thought, and I’m leaning in that direction. Luckily, I know this really fantastic girl who says she’s willing to put up with me, and at least

    2 \lim_{x \to 0} \frac{\sin x}{x}

    people have agreed to serve as witnesses, so the legal aspects are no obvious impediment. If we do decide to go through with it, the event will be synchronized with the summer solstice.

  3. cburrell Says:

    I don’t know why that limit didn’t format properly. It seems the WordPress LaTeX renderer is not quite up to snuff.

  4. Adam Hincks Says:

    Well, just make sure you have

    \frac{1}{\pi}\int_{- \infty}^{\infty} dx\;e^{-x^2}

    priest or deacon to witness also.

  5. Adam Hincks Says:

    Dang. Didn’t work. [Fixed now -CB] One of the big drawbacks to the comment system is that you can’t preview. What are the magic LaTeX delimeters? I guess it’s even more esoteric if it is presented in TeX . . .

    OK, now I need to go and do real work.

  6. cburrell Says:

    I agree that the inability to preview comments is a problem. If I knew how to change it, I would. As it is, I’ll edit your comment to fix the formatting problem.

    For future reference, WordPress syntax for LaTeX is

    “$”-conjoined-to-”latex” (latex-goes-here) $.

    You had it right, except for the opening (which I cannot write literally because it will mess with the formatting).

  7. Christina A. Says:

    Oh my goodness! Craig, I hope your lovely lady is geek friendly and “Nerdplatform 1.0 Alberta Edition” compatible!

    Adam, as your sister has always assured me, there is no hope for you!…

    As for myself, I accepted my ring and my crown in union with a man I met on the internet, so I’m not sure if I am in much of a position to comment on either of your stations as computer geeks!

    At least for you, Craig, you met your future wife in “Real World 1.0″ – designed and engineered by the omnipotent engineer, God – so real, it actually IS real!

  8. cburrell Says:

    She is indeed geek-friendly, though only somewhat compatible with the “Alberta Edition”. Analysts have recommended increased exposure to the Alberta environment to accelerate integration, but implementation problems have prevented compliance.

    What’s this about a ring and a crown? The Rev. Bonhoeffer wasn’t suggesting that the

    \lim_{x\to 1} \frac{1}{2^n n!} \frac{d^n}{dx^n} \sum_{k=0}^n (-1)^k {n \choose k} (x^2)^{n-k}

    implies the other, my dear. I believe that the

    \frac{\pi e^{-x}}{\int_0^\infty dt \frac{\cos x t}{1+t^2}}

    of you may have something to discuss.

    Also, as a general rule around here, I want to discourage guests from making disparaging remarks about others, even if on good authority. Even if there is no hope for Mr. Hincks (which I doubt), we shouldn’t say so. If such behaviour persists, I will be forced to institute a

    \int_0^\pi \sin m x \, \sin n x \; dx  \; \forall \; m \not= n

    tolerance policy. 8-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 146 other followers

